2" Suspension lift kit help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2" Suspension lift kit help

The slow ass garage who have been repairing my Surf (6 months now)following the accident are taking their sweet merry time to get everything finalised and I've had enough. I bought the 2" kit from Roughtrax and now feel that the only way this is ever going to get done is by doing it myself. How easy a job is it and will I need any special tools? I'm no mechanic, but I have just replaced the shocks and water pump on my Cherokee and put a new starter motor on a 200Tdi converted 1988 Land Rover 110. That's more or less the level I'm at.
    Should I just wait until the garage get round to doing it or is it a piece of p155 to do and I should do it myself?

If you have done shocks etc on other trucks then you will be able to do the suspension lift on thesurf.I would get some spring compressors tho to help with the removal and fitting
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/henpals/

Comment

Cheers Stormy, didn't really think it'd be too difficult, just never done springs before. Sods law though, all my old man's mechanic tools I inherited when he popped his clogs are sitting in a garage in the uk and I know there's some spring clamps in that lot.

Comment

Just found some on ebaay, delivered for 20 quid, that'll do me.

Comment

give yourself 3 hours and you'll be done or maybe 4 hours with tea breaks
          https://www.facebook.com/groups/henpals/

Comment

hi sorry to butt in but i was thinking about doing the 2" lift on my truck. but did read something somewhere about the lift messing with the gearing is this true??

thanks

Comment

Originally posted by levilg View Post
              hi sorry to butt in but i was thinking about doing the 2" lift on my truck. but did read something somewhere about the lift messing with the gearing is this true??

thanks