Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie after steering help please.

Hi all,

I've followed the forums for a while now since buying my truck last year (K Reg 2.4 2nd Gen) and having sucessfully fixed my turbo after finding advice from searching the forums I thought I would have a go at fixing my steering wobble which has been getting steadily worse.

After taking it to a tyre garage and asking them to change rear and front wheels round and perform a wheel balance and full alignment they got as far as jacking the front wheels up and stopping. They pointed out that there was too much play in the steering and I should get sort out that out first.

Now I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I thought it was time to get my hands mucky and try sorting this myself. I decided to replace the track rods, upper and lower ball joints, steering idler and pitman arm, ordered the parts from Roughtrax and they arrived promtply during the week.

Today I started the replacement process and have got as far as removeing both trackrods (trackrods are still intact - my hands not so much) and I'm now stuck at how to remove the upper/lower ball joints. How is this done? On the upper, I've removed the four nuts on the top but how do I separate this? I've looked at the lower joint and I'm not sure about that either.

Any adivce on how to do this would be appreciated, also how do I move the aircon radiator to get at the nuts holding the steering idler bolts in place?

I don't know how much mechanical skill you have but I do think you should be asking for practical help (if anyone on hear with the knowledge to do these jobs is near to you and willing to help)
    The jobs you have detailed are not very difficult but if not done properly could have fatal consequences for yourself/passengers or other road users.