Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2.7 vs 3.4 litre petrol engine ??

Hello.

I have only had diesel Surfs before. I am now looking to buy another Surf but I am keen on 1] 3rd Gen; 2] sunroof; 3] the 'powder blue' colour.

Looking on Japanese car websites so far I can only see petrol engines which offer all three - eg:

http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car...+surf/8616459/

or
    http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car...+surf/8596141/

I have zero mechanical knowledge but have read that in general terms diesel engines 'go on for ever' as compared to petrol ones.

Comments welcome esp as relates to Surfs.

Separate question from the reliability one : fuel economy : what is the likely difference in MPG as between the 2.7 litre petrol and the 3.4 litre one ?

Should I keep looking for a few months in hope of finding a diesel which offers my 3 preferences ?

All advice gratefully received.

Originally posted by jonathan blane View Post
    Hello.
    Hello.
    I have zero mechanical knowledge but have read that in general terms diesel engines 'go on for ever' as compared to petrol ones.
    Not necessarily true.

Comments welcome esp as relates to Surfs.

Separate question from the reliability one : fuel economy : what is the likely difference in MPG as between the 2.7 litre petrol and the 3.4 litre one ?
    The 2.7 gives slightly better MPG than the 3.0 diesel. The 3.4 would be less than both of them.

Should I keep looking for a few months in hope of finding a diesel which offers my 3 preferences ?
    No. I have two 2.7 Surfs, a 1996 & 2001 and they are much nicer to drive than the diesels.
    All advice gratefully received.
    Given.

Comment

MPG on a 3.4 petrol ?

so roughly what MPG can be expected from a 3.4 petrol surf ?

In town and on the road ??

http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car...+surf/8984711/

Comment

less than 30 no matter what, probably about 15-18 local and about 25-28 on a run, its harsh but true!

Comment