Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting Problems and White Smoke

Hi everyone,
    1st of all I'm a newbie to Surfs, so bear with me please.
    She's the LN130 2.4L Auto Diesel 1992 2LTE
    Run down of what happened:-
    Driving along and noticed temp gauge had gone into red, so drove about 1/4 mile further where I stopped.
    Got her back home (towed) and replaced knackered water pump and also the alternator, which I thought had a faulty regulator, but maybe not - anyhow it's done now, got 2 new batteries, a new thermostat (stuck open) and replaced 3 of the 4 fan belts (4th one, bottom right was OK).
    Since then it won't start - turns over fine, but just won't fire.
    So, I got a new fuel filter today, but when I was trying to bleed the old one it was only pumping out in a trickle - however when I removed the infeed pipe, it gushed out. So I blew back into the tank and now it primes from the hand pump fine. But it still struggles like mad to start - have to keep the ignition on for about 10-15 seconds 5 or 6 times on the trot and then it will finally start - very laboured though.
    However it's still really struggling to tick over until I press the fast idle switch, then it's a little better until it warms up and then sounds and ticks over fine (after switching off fast idle). But when it is going it's blowing white smoke like buggery, more so if I rev it.
    So now - I prime till the pump goes hard then try and start it and it's still the same struggle - really annoying and I don't know what to try next?
    Any Ideas welcome or even better if you live near Rugby I'd gladly pay you to come and fix it for me :O)
    Oh, it had a Sterling Touch immobilizer fitted, but I cut out the 2 feeds and put the original wires back together - and I still torpedo it.
    Had her since December 2014 and no trouble up to the water pump issue.
    Thanks in advance
    Mark

Hello & welcome Mark

Guess you also replaced cam belt.