Do I buy or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I buy or not?

Hi I am new to Surfs and yesterday I went to look at a 1995 3.0TD ( 135k Miles) that had been stood for between 1-2 years.
    I put a battery on it and fired it up almost straight away but it wouldn't rev.
    After looking around all the drive belts where slack
    I tightened them up and it runs OK even moved fine the brakes not stuck 4wd engaging ok.
    But on the dash the fluid warning light, Tbelt AT light and battery light are on.
    Is this probably just the alternator been a bit weak causing the other light to come on or could it have bigger problems? It is charging a little according to the in car gauge but it dips a lot with lights on.
    The back door isn't working and it needs rear bumpers but other than usual mess from been stood its in fairly good nick.
    Am in 2 minds weather to buy it or not
    It has 4 very good Uniroyl road tyres but no MOT Tax etc the owner will not take less than €700 euros for it
    I can do all the work myself but don't want it getting expensive.
    What do you guys think

Hello and welcome.
    The dashboard lights are indiciative of loose alternator belts. I would have been concerned about the not revving, but having stood for a long time...
    I would advise you try it from cold to operating temperature, making sure the levels are correct and gunk free before you start. It should not use any coolant at all. If it all checks out go for it
    good luck

edit: why has it stood got two years?
    If it is a head issue you are looking at a £1000 plus to remediate. But at €700 euros it's cheap enough... If it's all ok, doesn't spit coolant out etc seems like a steal.
    Last edited by gwh200; 8 January 2010, 10:39.
    Non intercooled nothing.

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply guys