Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Revs Changing Gear

Hi Everyone,

I've got a bit of a problem with my Surf. It has just started revving quite high before changing gear. The first gear change is at about 3000 rpm and it's the same for the next gear change (is that 1st to 2nd & 2nd to 3rd?) you can probably tell I'm a novice!

Anyway, I've read a few threads about topping up the ATF fluid, but I've just checked mine after a good 10 mile run, and it is just a bit over the Top mark, so I assume it's topped up ok.

Can anyone suggest another reason for the high rev's? I have done 20k miles since buying it straight from import in 2005 and have never changed the Timing Belt, so it is possible that it's never been changed! Ouch!

Any ideas will be gratefully received as I'm worried I might crack the head if it is over revving too much.

Thanks All
    Just Vegging Out

is the ECT button pressed in?
    Alan

yoshie "Didn't know they had a pill for laziness, anyway get well soon."

Comment

find out when the timing belt was changed and do that before it snaps and ruines your engine..

2ndly, the 4wd hasnt been put into 4wd LOW has it? either that or the "sports mode" is on..?

what colour is the gearbox oil. it shouldnt be overly burnt, and if its more black/brown rather than red it may be best to change it.
      Oh Nana, what's my name?

Comment

Originally posted by KERRSURF View Post
        is the ECT button pressed in?
        The ECT Button isn't connected, so I don't think it's that, but thanks for the suggestion.

The ATF oil looks pretty good. It's a reddy / brown colour and quite opaque, so no grime or sludge in it.

How easy is a Timing Belt to change? Does anyone know of any instructions on the forum?

Cheers all.
        Just Vegging Out

Comment

Do you mean translucent?

It should be bright red, not brown, and should not be opaque if its fresh.
          Cutting steps in the roof of the world

Comment