Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Phone Call from Customs and Excise

Hello everyone,
    well after being accepted as a biodiesel producer as of the 24-Aug-2005 using straight veg oil guess who just had a call from THEM saying I was'nt and that the Commisioner, whoever he/she is, has decided that veg oil does not meet the specification of a bio-diesel fuel.

The very nice lady appologized if I had been misled by their letter accepting me, but now I am only a fuel substitute producer!

I wasn't going to start arguing, after all she was only the unfortunate lackey who has to phone everyone and tell them.

However after pointing out that their letter had indicated I was ok to go ahead as a biodiesel producer from the 24th Aug I said I would only being paying the lower rate up to this date. She is going to check and get back to me..

Looks like less veg oil from now on... until I get me one of them kits from USA to enable me to do the trans whatever!

Has anyone else had any calls like this? and do we have anything to throw back at them..

Keith

By the way that also includes WVO that has been filtered, washed etc... but not done the trans thingy

28/09/2005
    Added copies of the letter I have since received later on in the thread here
    Last edited by KeithP; 28 September 2005, 11:40.

I've just spoken with HMRC to chase up my application.
    They basically said that I can only be registered as a fuel substitutes producer as SVO and WVO are not considered biodiesel unless transeterified.
    They are sending me the new 179E document, which outlines thier 'new' definitions, and also the returns form so that I can pay them 47.1p per litre
    I'm going to start using SVO because it'll still be a little cheaper and it is better for the environment but I wont let it lie!
    Something has to be done
    You aint seen me, right

Comment