Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted: 2.4L 2nd gen or cheapish 3rd gen

Hi guys,

I'm on the look out for a 2nd gen 2.4L diesel for around £1500. I'm taking part in a charity 'rally' to Mongolia this summer (a 10 000 mile trip from London via lots of interesting countries and more interesting terrain) and will be auctioning off the car when I get there. (www.fitforpurpose.tk for more info on that!)I'd ideally want to get there in one piece with as few breakdowns as possible!

As this is for charity and we're buying the car and getting there out of pocket, we really can't stretch the budget much unfortunately. I've been told to look for another vehicle, as I'm unlikely to find a working Hilux that will get us there for that price, but this would be the ideal car for us...

Also, I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to Hiluxes, but I've noticed that the head needs replacing or repairing after a certain point- what sort of mileage car should I be looking for in order to avoid head problems? I'd rather not get a car with a dodgy head and then pay another grand or so to get it fixed...

I hope I don't sounds like too much of a n00b- please be nice

FFP

I have a 2.4 for sale for £1500 that had a new head on it when we got it.
    The truck has been very reliable in the 3 years we have had it.
    See here http://www.hiluxsurf.co.uk/forums/sh...ad.php?t=43803
    I'm a custard donut monster

Comment

i know of a 2.4 for sale near me for 1k i got a contact number if needed
      https://www.facebook.com/groups/henpals/

Comment

Originally posted by jotto View Post
        I have a 2.4 for sale for £1500 that had a new head on it when we got it.
        The truck has been very reliable in the 3 years we have had it.
        See here http://www.hiluxsurf.co.uk/forums/sh...ad.php?t=43803
        That does look appealing, it's definitely quite high on our list