toyota 2lte surf starts on key and then dies in run position

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• toyota 2lte surf starts on key and then dies in run position

hi there this is my first time on this site i have spent the last two months working on this surf and getting no where i found a crashed hilux with a 2.8 3l engine in it i got it running in the truck before i took it out run well no smoke or bearing noise so the convershion begain i took my 2lte out of my surf

i stripped all the turbo efi set up sump etc bolted on to the 3l block plumbed up turbo done cambelt put efi diesel pump in put it all into my surf spent weeks checking wires found i had to replace coolant temp sensor and someplugs off resisters on the diesel pump will start and run off starter massive over fueling i think as very smokey .

i have had that motor running so the only thing im sure of is that should be fine i have never ever had so much trouble with a vehicle in my lift and ive worked on all sort lol

please please any help would be so appreciated heres i vid of it running at its worse

Have I got this right? You now have the 3L with all the Surf turbo parts and EFI pump in the Surf? The 3L usually does not have a Coolant temperature Sensor and also does not have a Crank Sensor, so will never run properly without them.

Nev

Comment

Welcome,
      Glad to see you are getting stuck in!

For starters, have you used any of these before? (see pic) If not, I highly reccomend them.
      Attached Files
      "B.A." Baracus: "Talk to me, talk sense so I can talk back. Not all this jibberjabber like breaking the peace and all that."
      www.johnthebuilder.info

Comment

Comment

Hi there nev

Yer I have put the 3l in had the place in block for coolant sensor just had to remove blanking plug and re mounted cas on the front crank pulley and have fixed all the things for fault codes and ideas

Comment