Automatic Gearbox problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Automatic Gearbox problems

Hi all I am in need of some help as I am new to the world of surfs and to what can be done to fix me problems.
    Firstly I have a gen 2 1kz130 auto on an M reg 94

The problem I have is the rad has started to leak inti the auto box......
    Went to a specalist who said the only cure was a complete rebuild costing £1350 plus vat.
    I said to him that I would get a secong hand box and fit it but he told me that there are many different variants and that i would get compalability issues if I did.
    Is this true and if so couldn't i use a second hand box and use the donner vehicles gearbox ecu to overcome this. I assume the ecu is not programed just plug and play.
    Secondly what would be involved in converting to a manual gearbox.
    Anyone with any advise........
    Thanks Richard

Has the gearbox gone faulty yet ? If not why not fit new rad and flush gearbox a couple of times with new ATF and see how it runs . If the rad has a high enough antifreeze in the coolant it may not have done any damage yet.
    You need a new rad anyway so not much lost to try it
    Rick...Member of 1st Gen club. ONE LIFE ... GET ONE !!

Comment

First of all, hello!
      Second, don't go to that garage again, they obviously don't know much about Surfs or auto transmisions.
      Third, do what Vagrant suggested first, if there's still any problems, a second hand transmission can be bought for under £100 and you won't need a matching ECU, yours will still work the replacement trans.

In any case, you still need a replacement radiator.

Comment

In North America, they call this problem the "pink milkshake", and it usually results in the tranny being pooched. You definitely need a new rad, and I agree that trying to flush the tranny is worth a try, if you caught it quickly enough you may still be fine.
        '96 Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G - RIP

Comment