morrisons derv

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• morrisons derv

ive been filling up at morrisons at knottingley for a couple of months now and i noticed a bit of diesel knock on start up
    it goes away after 5 mins or so
    took it to my diesel man and he says the derv is to blame
    so ive had 2 tanks of esso & a tank of bp through it and its gone!

why is this?
    i thought all diesel was the same and up to a standard
    at the end of the day................ it gets dark

Originally posted by shaggy
    ive been filling up at morrisons at knottingley for a couple of months now and i noticed a bit of diesel knock on start up

why is this?
    Don't use it myself , both the surf and the focus tdci hate the stuff , and they use it quicker=less mpg
    www.daemon4x4.org

Comment

Originally posted by shaggy

why is this?

Cheap supermarket diesel (city diesel) is for modern diesel engines and contains less lubricating properties than brand name diesel. I always (used to anyway) filled up at the lorry pumps in garages.

Comment

yeah i hadn't noticed that before it is city diesel
        doh stands to reason
        also i DONT get the knock when on oil
        dont understand why though

may just dissconect both battery's and see if the "reset" helps

Comment

really interesting thread because i've only been using morrisons fuel since iv'e had the truck and its my first diesel and i thought it was knocking a bit on initial start up unless i had put a redex treatment in the tank, i was thinking perhaps it was just cold or addicted to redex, and planning on mixing a couple of ltrs of veg-oil in there, 'i'll have to try a named brand and look for a difference'.

so i suppose that means cheap fuel is cheap fuel then.

Comment

interesting, I topped up at a Jet garage for the last tank, was using either BP or Shell, but as money's been tight started using the supermarket stuff a couple of months back, was OK to start with, but...