When should my 4x4 work?????????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When should my 4x4 work?????????

Hiya guys, I always drive my surf in 2 wheel drive on the road, i have used it a few times in 4x4 high box off road at low speeds and even low box off road and never had any problems. Today, as probably you all know its been snowing all over the country so i thought i would try drive home from work in 4 wheel drive (high box obviously).... Anyway i noticed alot of vibration from the front end and when i finally got home i put the surf in full left hand lock and the transmission locked up completely. Is the 4x4 mode on surfs meant for the road, im a mechanic and understand how a diff works (one wheel has to turn faster than the other when cornering) but it seems as though my surf doesnt want to go round corners in 4 wheel drive when on the road. ( i think its twisting the halfshafts and making a horrible crunching noise). Please help as my user manual is in japaneese and ive eaten as much curry as i can but still cant read it. I havent caused any damage as yet but when i jacked up the front end of the truck the wheels turned round as if the halfshafts are twisting. HELP

4 wheel drive

You can use 4wH drive on slippy roads ie. snow, thick mud etc as the tyres will slip enough to stop transmission wind up but you will notice on full lock turns that it can be hard to turn unless the road surface is slippy. My wife once left it in 4wH in the drive and I didn't realise when I tried to move it and it was really hard to move. At the weekend I was marshalling on the Kall Kwick rally in Dalby Forest and used 4wH for 50miles on road to get there as there was a good amount of snow. The beauty of the Surf is you can switch in and out of 4w drive at the touch of a button at up to 60mph so if the roads dry out just switch 4wH off.

The Surf doesnt have free wheeling hubs so the driveshafts do turn when you spin the wheels.