Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charging Issue KZN130

Afternoon everybody

After combing thread after thread, toyota manuals rah, rah. Trying to piece together everyone's advice and knowledge. Just can't pin down a scenareo that behaves like the one I'm experiencing with the surf

The Mrs was out n about in the surf & couldn't get it to start. She called out the RAC dudes. Short of the problem they said was batteries were flat & they recorded an 'open circuit' with the alternater-fine.
    They gave her a jump & followed her back home.

On advice of RAC guy, bought new batteries (as I didn't know how long they had been in service & bought a replacement alternator from Terry (Jap Parts 4x4) in Braintree.

As I'm not very good with electrics, I took the easy, more costly option of replacing faulty parts.

Truck was fine for 2 days, then dash warning lights appeared.
    Getting 12.43v on batteries b4 turning over, drops slightly to 12.39v on tickover.

Blip the throttle, creeps up to 12.46/7v & won't go any higher.
    Warning lights will intermittently go off but will re-appear after being driven a few mins.

Have checked earth straps, battery terminals r good n tight & clean. Fusable links all look good. 7.5amp charging fuse ok & 100amp fuse ok. Checked pulleys are not slipping. Have replaced alternator belts for new one's.

Have to take batt's out every 2 days to charge em overnight.
    Can't seem to get a good recommendation for an auto electrician & am so concerned am gonna get ripped off from previous experiences with mechanics in the area.

Am at my wits end & wifey wants to get rid of the surf.

Any help would be much appreciated guys, many thanks
    Submission?...Now that's a bit of a problem.

Sounds to me like your replacement alternator is either goosed or wrongly wired up
    Сви можемо

Comment