Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Timing Belt Light Query

Hi all,

Suffering from a severe lack of inclination and current lack of a garage, I did something yesterday I’ve never done before in my life, gave my wheels to a garage to service. Basic service, front pads and put thru its DOE test (Irish MOT for commercial vehicles). I also got him to replace the timing belt, which leads me to my question. I know that to reset the 'change belt light' you have to move the screw on the rear of the clocks to its alternate hole (found it before when I had the clocks out). However, as my timing light has not come on what effect would it have if I moved the screw now? I currently have around 187,000kms on the clock, so if all is correct its not due to come on for another 13,000km, does moving the screw reset the counter completely, or does it reverse its count? I’m trying to figure out will happen if I change it now, will the light come on at 287,000kms (current 187 + 100), or if it reverses the count, will it come on at 274,000kms (current 187 + counting back the next 87)

Anybody know what will actually happen????

Maurice
    Hilux Surf FAQ at www.hiluxsurf.eu

Not sure what will happen with changing the screws,but there is another way of doing it,I saw this on tha Aus site a while ago,and this is how I did mine.