Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New V6 Owner.

Hey guys,

I've just bought my 2nd Surf. Firts one was a 2.4 T/D and I've regretted selling it eversince!!

Since I'm pretty new to the V6 I have a couple of queries you guys might be able to help me out with. I'm planning on doing a bit of a service to get everything all cleaned/replaced etc.

What are things to check out on one of these and replace during a service? Are they prone to BHG same as the 2.4TD, if so is there some sort of preventative maintenance that can stop this from happening?
    What sort of engine oil does it use and what is it's capacity? - Would like to know the same for the tranny oil.

That's basically it for now, I'm sure there's one or two questions I forgot but I'll post them up as soon as I remember!

Thanks!

Hello mate! Welcome to the site.

Bearer of bad news im afriad mate - They do blow head gaskets.
    Its similar mileage figure on most aswell i think. Either way - Enjoy your truck!

No doubt some of the V6 owners will be along shortly!

Comment

Originally posted by RodLeach
      Bearer of bad news im afriad mate - They do blow head gaskets. Its similar mileage figure on most aswell i think. Either way - Enjoy your truck!
      When you say 'similar mileage', do you mean they tend to BHG after having done a certain amount of K's? What would that figure be?

Comment

Originally posted by Silent Knight
        When you say 'similar mileage', do you mean they tend to BHG after having done a certain amount of K's? What would that figure be?
        yeah, spot on mate.

I wanna say 50,000kms But it could be more or less - Its around that kinda figure.

Comment

Its normally just a gasket though, so less tramatic on the wallet than the 2.4's.

My old UK 4Runner V6 was done at about 60,000miles by the previous owner. Who had it fixed by Toyota then sold it! Cheers!
          4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment

Head Gaskets