Polishing/Clear coating

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polishing/Clear coating

If I polish some aluminium(alloy) parts using Autosol, is there anything I have to do to them between the polishing stage and the clear coating stages?
    Do you know that, with a 50 character limit, it's

What, non of the shiny brigade seen this thread yet.
    If its not broke don't fix it.

Comment

I thought it was a p*ss take!

Comment

Nope, I'm cleaning some bits from my bike.

I thought about polishing them then wiping them with petrol (like we used to do to get wax polish off paintwork) but as I've never done it before, I thought I'd ask.

Comment

you could use anchor wax instead of the clearcoat, easier to apply and reapply. Got the shaft BTW, cheers. Not opened it up yet but it here

Comment

one word of advice,dont use a clear coat,it will tarnish and turn yellow in a matter of weeks.best thing to do would be to polish the alloy and then just buff them up once a month with some metal polish.
            www.overfab.uk

Comment

Originally posted by an1mal_69 View Post
              Got the shaft BTW, cheers. Not opened it up yet but it here
              Glad it got there OK.

Comment

Originally posted by surfenstein View Post
                one word of advice,dont use a clear coat,it will tarnish and turn yellow in a matter of weeks.best thing to do would be to polish the alloy and then just buff them up once a month with some metal polish.
                Ah, OK. I'll keep a closer eye on things then, not let them get as bad as they did!

Comment

again, if you're not going to clearcoat..anchor wax is the way forward. Its widely used on the VW scene for the 'rat-look' where they let the body rust then use the wax to protect the bare metal.

Comment