Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternator refurb in Poole, Dorset

Hi all,

I think (but I'm no expert) my alternator on my '95 kzn130 has died (usual signs -lights on the dash, only putting out 11.5v as far as I can tell). Does anyone know of a decent refurber in Poole and how much it would cost or should I just go for a new one?

Thanks in advance,

Tom.

Hi mate,

Ive got a used one you can have for 45.00 plus a bit of post. I see your only up the road so you would be able collect if you want. Might be the cheapest way to get you up and running again.

Not sure how much a rebuild is but a new one is 138.00.

Comment

Thanks for that pal. Just wondering whether it's worth taking the hit and get a new one, if so, from where?
      Any advice appreciated.

I may be in touch though - any dea how many miles yours has done?

Comment

Not sure on the miles on mine but the guy I bought it off told me he had it replaced around three years ago so I wouldnt think it has that many miles on it.

Try Milner off road - 138.00 plus delivery

Or Roughtrax - Not sure how much from them though.

Let me know what you decide.

Comment

Many thanks, I will be in touch if needed.

Comment

Ok, saga continues. Tried some more WD40 and a tap on the housing. Tried it again but no change batteries only showing 12.55 (they've been on trickle charge all day) so after one minute killed it to be met with a smouldering alternator?!!!! On inspection One of the 'vent bars' on the main body has snapped and so could be inside the body. If it isn't inside could it be the wd40? Either way I'm now not keen on running it again so effectively I have properly buggered it and now can't move it.
            If I ease the tensioner bolt and slip off the belts this should enable me to atleast move the truck? Do those belts run anything else?