Comon Gearbox faults?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Comon Gearbox faults?

Hey, im wondering if anyone else experiences problems with the Surf, it's a 3.0 diesel M reg 1995, basically its difficult to get into 3rd & 4th gears, physically the gear lever doesnt wanna go in all the way...

Anyone any idea's?

(im a mechanic by the way, just want peoples opinions to see if there's a quick fix or common problem)?

Cheers...

Dave.

No its not a common fault !!! selector forks maybe worn though
    (\__/)
    (='.'=) SQUIRREL MUNCHER GRRRRRRR
    (")_(")

Comment

Had a similar problem, turned out to be master clutch cylendar.

Comment

Mines sometimes feels a bit sticky changing from 2nd to 3rd,I thought Toyota manual gearboxes were almost indistructible(as posted by Elvie a while back)?
        Powered by ????

Comment

almost ...

I'd bleed the clutch with new fluid, failing that then change the bushing at the bottom of the gear shifter (£3), then change the slave, then the master, then I'd just put up with it until I had the balls to have the gearbox checked.

Are the restrictor pins on each side of the gearshifter hole on the top of the gearbox adjustable???

Comment

Mines sometimes feels a bit sticky changing from 2nd to 3rd,I thought Toyota manual gearboxes were almost indistructible(as posted by Elvie a while back)?

Helps if you change the oil now and then and don't do stupid things at high speeds but most gearboxes will outlast the engine and other mechanical components anyway.

The internal components of the R150/151 gearboxes are only slightly different to the ones in the W58 gearbox that is fitted to MA70 Supras. There are many modified Supras which put 200-400Kw through standard gearboxes on the road and in competition.

Comment

gearbox problem solved ! Tek note !

It turned out to be the plastic/ rubber bush inside the gearlever housing.