?where's my centre diff?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ?where's my centre diff?

OK - so I'm no expert on my 3rd gen (yet).

I trolled around under the chassis to prep for lubing and oil changes.

I now know where the grease nipples, diffs, transfer case, auto box etc. are but NOT the fabled/mythical centre diff.

Does this exist or are you guys pulling my leg. Where is it located and how is it engaged/disengaged (electric/mechanical).

Reason for asking: with the multi-mode system, I'm supposed to be able to use 4wd high on tarmac but am still getting axle wind-up and flashing lights.

If I de-activate the switch, wind-up immediately stops but lights still flash for a while.

Previous owner said his mechanic suspected the ADD but I think it may be this centre diff.

Some peals of wisdom please.....

Ash.
    ash-ssrg

Originally posted by ash-ssrg
    OK - so I'm no expert on my 3rd gen (yet).

I trolled around under the chassis to prep for lubing and oil changes.

I now know where the grease nipples, diffs, transfer case, auto box etc. are but NOT the fabled/mythical centre diff.

Does this exist or are you guys pulling my leg. Where is it located and how is it engaged/disengaged (electric/mechanical).

Reason for asking: with the multi-mode system, I'm supposed to be able to use 4wd high on tarmac but am still getting axle wind-up and flashing lights.

If I de-activate the switch, wind-up immediately stops but lights still flash for a while.

Previous owner said his mechanic suspected the ADD but I think it may be this centre diff.

Some peals of wisdom please.....

Ash.

Taken from Morr's website..........

3rd Gen: The 3rd Gen Surf has a multi-mode 4wd system.
    It may be used in 2wd Hi-ratio, driven by the rear wheels only, 4wd Hi-ratio with an open centre differential. 4wd Hi-ratio with the centre differential locked and 4wd Lo-Ratio with the centre differential locked.