engine stopped

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• engine stopped

Help! whilst driving to town this morning the engine on my Nreg 3.0 td cut out and now won't start.IT turns over fine but won't fire all fuses are ok and there is diesel at the filter. any advise would be appreciated.

heater plugs ??

Comment

Originally posted by joen.i
      heater plugs ??
      The engine was warm would the lack of heater plug function stop it firing also what caused it to cut out

Comment

i'm no expert guys, far from it, but really cannot see it being plugs related, as one the engine has initially fired, they don't stay on long anyway..i'd say it was a fuel issue, and if it cut dead, but still turns ok, its probably something at the pump end? when you turn it over, does it sound faster than usual, as that may indicate a broken cam-belt, i think?

Comment

Originally posted by mickey
          i'm no expert guys, far from it, but really cannot see it being plugs related, as one the engine has initially fired, they don't stay on long anyway..i'd say it was a fuel issue, and if it cut dead, but still turns ok, its probably something at the pump end? when you turn it over, does it sound faster than usual, as that may indicate a broken cam-belt, i think?
          Hi I dont want to be the bringer of bad tidings, but this happened to me on a 2.4 and the cam belt had snapped.

Comment

When an Engine just cuts out like this the first thing to check is the CAMBELT. Dont crank it over till youve checked this as you may cause more damage.
            (\__/)
            (='.'=) SQUIRREL MUNCHER GRRRRRRR
            (")_(")

Comment

Originally posted by marky
              When an Engine just cuts out like this the first thing to check is the CAMBELT. Dont crank it over till youve checked this as you may cause more damage.