dead speedo - any ideas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dead speedo - any ideas

My speedo just seems to have packed up. No movement - nothing. Other gauges seem to be fine though.

Having read a similar thread about this, I've stripped down the dash and got behind the instrument panel to check for a loose wiring harness. However all the white harnesses seem to be clipped securely in place.

Anyone any ideas where else I could look to trace the fault, or maybe something more specific I should be looking for in the instrument panel? I'm a bit of a novice at this and I've only got as far as I have with the illustrated guides on the Hilux Surfing site!

It's a bit of a bugger, since the Surf ain't going nowhere till I get the dash back in place...

Cheers,
    t

Originally posted by tamper
    My speedo just seems to have packed up. No movement - nothing. Other gauges seem to be fine though.

Having read a similar thread about this, I've stripped down the dash and got behind the instrument panel to check for a loose wiring harness. However all the white harnesses seem to be clipped securely in place.

Anyone any ideas where else I could look to trace the fault, or maybe something more specific I should be looking for in the instrument panel? I'm a bit of a novice at this and I've only got as far as I have with the illustrated guides on the Hilux Surfing site!

It's a bit of a bugger, since the Surf ain't going nowhere till I get the dash back in place...

Cheers,
    t
    I presume you have the elctronic speedo (you can check by looking at the front of it - the electronic one has a small pin that stops the dial from going back further than 0.

If this is the case have a look closely at the rear of the speedo unit, you may be able to see where the (very thin) wires come off the board and connect to the speedo unit itself. One of these may have broken or even broken in the speedo head itself.