replaced bad injectors, no power now

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• replaced bad injectors, no power now

I was told over a year ago that my injectors were in bad shape, finally replaced them today. I am an auto tech so it wasn't my first time wrenching, but after changing them I find I have no power. can't do 100km/h and it is always downshifting. I turned my fuel pump down (3 clicks) after changing, but put it back where it was and still no power. dp these injectors have a break in period? I changed the body and all, not just the tips. my boost still hits about 11 psi as it did before (thought it might be a boost leak). all I can think of is that I have an air leak into the fuel system somewhere. when I first started it I noticed a heavy diesel knock but went away shortly. it starts and idles much better than before. and the engine no longer shakes when revved up like before. I don't see any fuel leaks, my injection pump isn't old. all I can think of is an air leak or they need a break in.

I also changed the valve cover gasket and throttle body gaskets while I was in there as they were both seeping oil. any ideas?

Was the power ok before changing the injectors?

Is this lack of power accompanied by any smoke and if so what colour?
    Eat.Sleep.Surf.Repeat.

Comment

it did lack power before a bit but I could still do 110 km/h. it smoked black before and it does still smoke a little, but not as bad. I do have 35s and 5.29 gears so I know it won't be a powerhouse but I figured charging injectors would free up a little power. I rebuilt the engine last year so there isn't much other reason for it to suddenly drop in power.

Comment

Air filter choked?
        Fuel filter ?
        Does it just run out of revs?

O/D button in?
        Eat.Sleep.Surf.Repeat.

Comment

what engine is it?