I know nothing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I know nothing

Morning folks,my 2.4 93 import surf has been sitting on my drive for over a yearafter badly overheating,I was told by everyone I asked that the head was gone,2 weeks ago after following the tips on this site i changed the coolant and thermostat,the beast is running and the heating stays midway at the min.anyway i got brave and bought a oil filter but can find no idiots guide to change the oil,i crawled under the drivers side and found a oblong box the bung was 14 mm i undid it and oil came out,im getting good i thought the oil wasn't black more tinged with red is this the wrong oil? and would there be another sump before the oil sump,i really haven't a clue i turned the key but didn't engage the engine the oil shows empty where as before it was 1/2 way.
    also is there a another filter that looks like the oil filter?sorry for being so thick but as a mechanic I make a great pizza.thanks in advance.
    Still Trying

Morning

I would suggest that if the oil that came out was red/reddish that it was was probably transmission oil.

Have a look on this website for some tips http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/techsite/
    Eat.Sleep.Surf.Repeat.

Comment

if you look into the engine bay from the front drivers side wheel arch, you might have to remove the cover only a couple of bolts i believe, you will see the oil filter staring at you in the face. it should only be hand tight.
      it sounds like you got the correct sump plug. the oil coming out will look jet black, im not sure why it looks slightly red like you say. im sure other people on here might know.
      when you put on the new oil filter put a dab of new oil on the rubber sealing ring, and screw on hand tight and make sure you dont cross thread it. and make sure you put the sum plug back in before you top up with new oil lol.