Help! Non-Start after new head fitted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! Non-Start after new head fitted

Having nightmare with my 'new' '91 Hilux Surf 2.4TD (2L-TE). Found cylinder head to be cracked! Bought new head & had it fitted by mechanic friend but since unable to start. Engine just turns over until battery goes flat! Occassionally 'coughs' as if it is about to fire.

Have checked timing & had pump (electric type) sent away for overhaul but still no joy. It appears that no fuel is getting through - could this be due to siganl to fuel cut-off solenoid? - if so how do I check this?

Really frustrating as everything seems okay & vehicle ran fine before head removed (apart from overheating!).

Any ideas gratefully received before taking out the petrol & matches!!

Have you had the batteries disconnected while work was bing done? If not it might be a good idea to dis' the batteries for 20 mins to reset the ECU. As you can probably guess I am not a mechanic. Maybe one of the more learned will be able to help.

Good Luck

Phil
    It's only a hobby!

Comment

Could be a dozen reasons for not starting.
      Were timing marks on pump and housing realigned when replaced?Fuel cut solenoid is on rear of pump above fuel lines.This should click when ignition is turned on.Have someone turn key while you check.If not check for power at the wiring connector.There are three points and with the plug facing you check for power at single one with the other two at the top.If no power then connect a lead to positive battery terminal and this point on the solenoid side and solenoid should work.If vehicle is started with jumper lead then this will have to be disconnected to stop engine. Bleed injectors by loosening the nut on fuel line and cranking till fuel comes out.Do this to each injector one at a time.

Neville

Comment