yobit eobot.com

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another clyinder head question - sorry!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another clyinder head question - sorry!!!

Hi folks,

I’m new to the Surf, great vehicle! I have a 92-2.4 diesel. I am a little worried about having a cylinder head drama.I should have researched a little more before I made a purchase, never mind job done now.

I have covered around 2000 miles with no problems since buying the Surf but now I drive watching the temperature gauge!!! Sadly I do not know the history of the vehicle, it might already have a new head?

Is there anything I can do to maybe protect the head I have? I know I should just enjoy, and I do but it is getting into me head a wee bit… http://www.hiluxsurf.co.uk/forums/im...es/anxious.gif

Thanks for any advice in advance 

1stly forget relying on the temp guage also dont presume you get the same symptons as you would normally get with a car. Replacement of Radiator Cap & Thermostat may help.
    (\__/)
    (='.'=) SQUIRREL MUNCHER GRRRRRRR
    (")_(")

Comment

2.4's should be flushed out every 2 years, with the thermostat removed and the heaters set to hot, they should also be reversed flushed till the water coming out is clear, then put everything back and burp it. dont forget the antifreeze as this has a corrosion inhibitor to stop the rust forming and blocking the small water passages in the head's which then localises the heat in that spot and cracks the head.
      Happy 2.4ing.
      IT's not how you get in it . IT's how you get out.

Comment

Thanks for the advice guys!!!

I'll get it done ASAP...

Comment

Interesting post!

I got my '92 2.4 about 1500kms ago and have been thinking about this myself since reading the horrer stories on these forums.I then had a bit of drama over the weekend.