2.4 Surf newbie with some problems,HELP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2.4 Surf newbie with some problems,HELP

Hey all,Im new here.Im Pat and Im from Dublin,Ireland.

Im a complete newbie to the world of 4x4,s and jeeps so excuse my lack of knowladge.I just bought a 1991 Hilux Surf yesterday.I bought it for towing my race car and trailer and also for the odd fishing weekend with my girlfriend and daughter.

I have a few problem with the Hilux though and hope that some of you can help me out and advise me on solutions.

The jeep is a Jap Import 2.4 Turbo diesel and its an automatic.It has 144,000 miles on it.And its SLOW as feck.It seems to accelerate slow,but then she revs up when I try to accelerate,but it wont really accelerate,only if I back off the throttle a bit does she start to pick up speed,but slowly.Even on a slight uphill road,shes SLOW and she struggles to keep speed,actually she looses it instead.The green turbo light seems to come on and then it stays on for a bit after throttle is closed,but then it wont come on when I accelerate again.So something isnt right somewhere.

Could it be a turbo actuator problem or a fuel or throttle problem?

Anyway,here she is.

1st,can you tell me what the red button by the gear shifter in the pic below does and what the black switch is for.Is it something to do with steering?

2nd,what is this red toggle style switch for?Its just below the steering column and near the bonnet release.

3rd,the jeep seems to be very very slow I have read on other threads about some throttle position sensor,an EGR valve thing and a fuel pump screw and its settings that can be changed to give more power and acceleration.Can someone show me in this pic where this EGR thing and TPS is and what might be the problem with my oh so SLOW Surf.
    Last edited by pjd30; 13 February 2008, 19:21.