Absolute Beginner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Absolute Beginner

I have bought myself a 92 2.4 Surf which I just love. But I have a couple of questions and I have absolutely no experience of diesel engines, 4*4's, etc.
    -My oil pressure guage fluctuates as i drive, is that normal?
    -I have read the faq's about 4wd, but I find it hard to shift from H4 to L4, -I have only tried while stationary, am I being a moron?
    -When i pull away the automatic gearbox feels like it clunks sometimes, again is that a worry? it doesn't always do it and it is quite subtle?
    -There are two dipsticks (i know.....sorry) I know one is the engine oil, what is the other one?
    -Finally ( for now) I bought a diesel additive to be added when i next fill up to "help clear the injection ports"....before i do anything stupid any thoughts?
    Any advice/info gratefully received.
    Mnay thanks

Originally posted by Sibeaddict
    I have bought myself a 92 2.4 Surf which I just love. But I have a couple of questions and I have absolutely no experience of diesel engines, 4*4's, etc.
    Yup.

-I have read the faq's about 4wd, but I find it hard to shift from H4 to L4, -I have only tried while stationary, am I being a moron?
    You sometimes need to be moving for all bits to line up and connect together, but ONLY on slipperey surfaces, never on the road.
    -When i pull away the automatic gearbox feels like it clunks sometimes, again is that a worry? it doesn't always do it and it is quite subtle?
    You'll always get a little slack in the drive train, could be worn UJ's, just check nothing is loose.
    -There are two dipsticks (i know.....sorry) I know one is the engine oil, what is the other one?
    Auto box oil.
    -Finally ( for now) I bought a diesel additive to be added when i next fill up to "help clear the injection ports"....before i do anything stupid any thoughts?
    Toss it in, usually good stuff.
    Mnay thanks