back to the head...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• back to the head...

Hi y'all. Firstly, as a newbie I gotta say all that the feedback and help on my previous threads has been fantastic. Not only guiding me in the right direction, but also in putting my mind at rest from 'surf paranoia'.
    So, following advice on an oil leak from round the head, I have isolated it. The engine has just had a thorough chemical cleaning and I can now see quite clearly where the blow is coming from. There is a pressure leak from the head gasket on the front left hand side, above the last few digits of the engine number, just forward of the head bolt at the front of the inlet manifold assembly. The edge of the head gasket is clearly visible here and the leak can be seen coming from both above and below the gasket. Its only a pin-prick leak, reducing to almost nothing as the engine warms up. I was wondering if it could be remidied by re-torquing the head bolt but Im concerned about it snapping if I try. So, should I now make the decision to have the head off to replace the head gasket and be prepared to replace the head if its found to be cracked, or should I just keep running it until it either becomes seriously worse and I get oil/water transfer?
    Cheers.
    My karma ran over my dogma ..
    Paul

I think I would try re-torqueing it, you'll find the figures in the manual, or do a search for the info on here.

You will have to do all the bolts in the correct sequence, the should'nt shear off, as you will be using a torque wrench ste to the correct value.

Maybe TonyN would be able to give more deffo advice on retorqing procedure.

You've got nothing to lose I'd say.
    Last edited by plumb bob; 11 February 2007, 18:35.
    Rob

Still working for the man!

Comment

The cylinder head bolts are stretch bolts and so should not be reused or retorqued.