Head |Gaskets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Head |Gaskets

Jeremy Clarkson said on the telly that Hilux are indestructable so I baught one. Sure enough after a couple of months all the water has gone and white smoke comes out of the exhaust. There is also a stream of bubbles coming out of the overflow pipe into the expansion bottle. Checked the site & it seems that every surf blows gaskets /heads on a regular basis. Does anyone know what causes it and more important what should we all do to stop it reoccurring. The car is a '91 2.4 turbo and it has already had at least 1 replacement engine. Am I wasting my time and hard earned trying to fix it. Help Please.

See!!! this is why im so damn paranoid!!

Sorry mate, im no expert mechanically, but if you wana go halves on some therapy let me know! Good luck....

Comment

Originally posted by Tonto
      Jeremy Clarkson said on the telly that Hilux are indestructable so I baught one. Sure enough after a couple of months all the water has gone and white smoke comes out of the exhaust. There is also a stream of bubbles coming out of the overflow pipe into the expansion bottle. Checked the site & it seems that every surf blows gaskets /heads on a regular basis. Does anyone know what causes it and more important what should we all do to stop it reoccurring. The car is a '91 2.4 turbo and it has already had at least 1 replacement engine. Am I wasting my time and hard earned trying to fix it. Help Please.
      The waterways on the original head was too close to the valve seat area MODIFIED heads are now thicker in that area.
      (\__/)
      (='.'=) SQUIRREL MUNCHER GRRRRRRR
      (")_(")

Comment