opinions please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• opinions please

had a new head fitted last summer and haven't had many problems...but have noticed very small amount of oil under car every other day although level in oil tank seems okay..took it to local garage(as so scared after engine seized when head went)..they said poss rear oil something and they would have to go in through gear box or take whole engine out and prob not worth doing as seems to be slow leak but I am paranoid that it is my bottom end!!!!as you can tell I am not technical but nervous!!!also funny burning rubber smell sometimes they said that was my power steering belt which they adjusted (for free)but I still think I smell it and hear metal on metal sound when windows are open....what is going on???what would signs of the bottom end going apart from full engine seizure????also have lost my passenger mirror and same side window won't open (garage said need new driver side control motor even though other windows still work £150 does that sound right?)...any answers grateful thanks...

rear crank seal probably, mine used to leak lots but doesnt seem so bad now. gearbox out to fit it but as you say not really worth it as long as you keep it checked.
    where abouts in london are you?
    Tim
    Break It,Fix It,Repeat,Break It,Fix It,Repeat

Comment

Originally posted by dirtydog
      rear crank seal probably, mine used to leak lots but doesnt seem so bad now. gearbox out to fit it but as you say not really worth it as long as you keep it checked.
      where abouts in london are you?
      willesden who do you use in london to look at your surf???

Comment

Hi Bowwow

I wouldn't worry too much about the oil leak it's not a sign of anything major, just an oil leak, and if as you say it's only a drop every couple of days then it's very minor (it's amazing how far one drop of oil can spread out on the drive).