Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice before buying please

Dear All,
    I wish to buy a surf, as I am totally hooked on them - yet everybody I know says don't. The logic makes sence if you believe them - so I wanted to ask the experts.
    1:Excepting the higher insurance costs, are these cars the potential nightmare that some people make out. Will it be fore ever in the garage???
    2:There seems to be this big issue with over heating and heads - whats the deal there please.
    3: Does any one have a checklist of obvious things prior to buying to look for please?
    I am not a mechanic, but not an idiot either, and have an excellent local Toyota dealer who says he sees a lot of Surfs.

Specifically I am looking at a: 1991, 2.4 Turbo Diesel SSR-G. It was bought by its current owner with a dead engine, and has a full rebuild by a professional local company ( receipts to proove etc) . total of 92000 miles on clock, but only 500 since rebuild. Has 12 inch wide alloys, and 33 ince tyres all new. and jacked up suspension. Immacualte interior with Recaro seats. Guy seems genuine enough - says he bought it as a project, it has eaten cash and now he needs to get some back - he has 6 other off roaders! He is well known local professional not a car dealer. Cost £ 4,495

So what do you all think. Would appreciate advice from people who know these cars. Thanks in advance. PAul
    .......because I can....OK!
    2.4 TD manual 1992 SSR-X

Originally posted by Paul Savage
    Dear All,
    I wish to buy a surf, as I am totally hooked on them - yet everybody I know says don't. The logic makes sence if you believe them - so I wanted to ask the experts.
    1:Excepting the higher insurance costs, are these cars the potential nightmare that some people make out. Will it be fore ever in the garage???
    2:There seems to be this big issue with over heating and heads - whats the deal there please.