Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tracking

Hi all

So took my surf to be tracked today, and i was told blah de blah blah all the relevant parts were rusted and ceased and that nothing could be done until they replaced all the parts with new parts. Now i am no mechanic but the adjustment rods did not look rusted and ceased to me and there was no evidence of any lubricant used, Anyone had this problem before or is this dude trying to pull the wool over my eyes???? having that said they are supposed to be a reputable company? Thank you in advance.

Hi and welcome.
    Its not uncommon for them to seize up, however I would expect to see some WD40 or the like sprayed over them, some tool marks on them as well where they had the grips etc on them.
    Try freeing them up yourself then take it somewhere else to get the tracking done. If it does need parts don't let them get them look top right of this page to get the parts yourself.
    Say not always what you know, but always know what you say.

My 4x4
    My choice
    Back off

Comment

by the sounds of it they just couldnt be arsed to do the job,
      my track rods were all seized on my 2.4 , but 5 minutes with some wd40 and some heat and they turned nicely , take it somewhere with some competent mechanics instead
      PayPal for stickers : scuffsnscrapes@hotmail.com

Comment

I always free them off before hand, as they are usually siezed up, and they will only try so hard to move them.

Most need WD40, heat and big pair of stilsons.

If they are really bad, you'll crush the adjuster tubes, then won't be able to adjust them properly.
        4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment

tracking

Cheers guys for the info all very informative, my update is I took it to another garage and in fairness he spent about 20 mins with gas on one of them and said the same thing without me telling him about the previous guy.