Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A stupid question from an idiot

Hi all

I hope you'll forgive a (probably) stupid question. I am completely new to Surf ownership (had mine for less than a month) and I have to be honest, I'm not much good with cars generally. I can drive them ok, but under the bonnet....well... :/

So here goes.

In short, my truck won't start. The ignition switches on, the electrics seem to work ok, but the engine doesn't catch. Almost sounds like a flat battery, but I'd only just parked up so it shouldn't be that.

Here's what happened:

Parked up, got out of truck. Dog leapt everywhere and may well have hit some buttons in an "I'm being left here" panic. Things she could get to - the ECT switch, the Idle Up switch and the little switch below the Idle Up switch, which I'm not sure what it is/does (and haven't found an answer in my manual or on the FAQ's...). I don't think she hit anything else.

Anyway, realised I'd parked up badly and hopped in to move it over a bit, and realised it wouldn't start. I have tried:

Setting and unsetting the alarm/immobiliser, both on the key fob and with the manual stick thingy (sorry, getting technical here!!)
    Phoned a friend (knowledgeable, will pop over and try to help later/tomorrow) who said to try moving it from P to N while turning the key (easier said than done!)
    Obviously pressing and unpressing everything the dog might have hit (I think she's deliberately sabotaged it!)

Truck is an L reg 3.0TD Auto. Not had any other problems with it, alarm has been fine (set it off twice by mistake but obvious reasons), so I think it's...er...user error :embarrassed smiley:

Yes, I'm an idiot and I should probably pop off to a "car beginners r us" forum somewhere, but I wonder if any of you knowledgeable lot might be able to shed some light on this. All help and suggestions appreciated

Thanks in advance

Update on this -