Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introducing myself!

Hi,

Just wanted to introduce myself, my names Phil and I'm an alcoholic...damn...wrong forum.....

I've joined your band of brothers as I'm considering getting a Surf/4runner. I'm not a newbie to 4x4's by any means having owned with the wife over the years, a Suzuki SJ410, LR Series IIa 88", 2. Freelanders, one old shape and one new shape Cherokee, one MK1 Trooper and my current 98 3.1 MK3 Trooper and the wifes current company 08 X-Trail. As you can see I'm a bit of a tart when it comes to brands........

The reason for maybe wanting a change is partly that I've never really bonded with my current clean shiny trooper unlike my smelly, dented and scabby MK1, it also disgraced us by breaking down in the middle of France whereupon some serious wallet raping took place for a new alternator at an eye watering price and three days wait and has had numerous niggling little problems since. Don't get me wrong, they're very capable 4x4's, huge inside and generally pretty reliable but there's just not that spark with this one.

Secondly I want to build an overland/expedition rig to take the wife and kids a bit further afield in a few years time, maybe down to North Africa and I also fancy a trip up to the arctic circle in Norway and frankly, support for Isuzu outside the UK is very very limited whereas a hilux is much more universal. Also theres much more aftermarket support for Surf/4runners in terms of modification parts, bumpers, racks etc etc than there is for troopers. I'm not really an active off roader in this country any more as I can't afford to break stuff these days, the last couple have been more workhorses as we have been renovating a house in France that was only accessible by 4x4 (well, accessible most of the time!) but now we have a proper road.