Insurance -What a PITA!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insurance -What a PITA!

I seldom post, but after 2 days of ringing around for insurance I need a minor vent.

I bought my Surf ('94 3.0 TD) last Jan and after a few calls I managed to insure through Direct Line for £330. At time I was still on my Canadian driver's license, and Direct Line honoured what would effectively be my Canadian no-claims bonus as I could provide a letter from my insurer showing no claims for the last 7 years (as far as their records go -although I've been driving since 1987 with no incidents).

I was happy too when the gave us a multi-car discount when I insured my Honda Civic with them a couple of weeks later.

Well our renewal notices have arrived and they've jacked our rates up nearly 50%!! My Hilux is quoted at £479 and they say they can't do anything on the price, despite the fact that they stand to lose out on renewals for 2 cars this month.

So I've been ringing around and surfing websites looking for new quotes, trying to get close to what I had last year. I've made probably a dozen or so calls now and at least as many websites. I checked with providers recommended on this site including Adrian Flux who quoted me > £3000! No that's not an extra zero on there.

I got onto Tesco's site after reading oen thread here, and things were looking pretty good. When I searched my reg though it came back as a Landcruiser, but with the right 3L motor and Auto trans at least. The price came back at £275! Bargain! I'll just ring them up and get the model changed to a Surf. Now the price is £425 because I don't get the online discount! Can they fix the model in the system so when I go back to m online quote I can enter it properly? Nope...

Why is it that this vehicle doesn't come up properly in all the insurance systems?! It's been in the country since 2005...