Geocaching

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geocaching

Do any of you do this geocaching thing? I have a GPS & a sat nav so was thinking of giving it a go but just wanted to find out a bit more about it from those that have done it or are doing it.

Cheers
    Ian
    I'm not a complete idiot.......

My kneecap was removed in 1981

we've just done it a couple of times with one of our youth groups so I'm no expert, but from what we've done it's pretty straightforward really, what do you wanna know?
    =========
    =SOLD UP!=
    =========

Comment

Hi,
      Been doing it for a couple of years now and done about 400.
      What do you need to know?
      Chris
      ps.
      You can contact me from the geocaching site as Team Marigold.
      Time is an illusion.
      Lunchtime doubly so.

Comment

Thanks, do you do it as a group? how do you normally do it? I was thinking of several cars with a list of points & each vehicle goes off to make their way through the list & meeting up later, or a group of people in one car go off & complete the list, I just wondered how others do it as I've not done it before.

Cheers
        Ian

Comment

Geocaching

Hi,
          What you describe sounds more like a treasure hunt than Geoaching as such.
          The way Geocaching works is that someone hides something somewhere and then publishes the co-ordinates on a website (usually www.geocaching.com).
          You then put the co-ordinates into your gps and set out and find it. It is similar to the letter boxing that they do on dart moor and places like that.
          The website is free to join and there is an excellent forum dedicated to the UK where UK caches would be only too happy to offer any help needed.
          What you are suggesting sounds like fun though.
          Hope this helps but if you have any more questions just let me know.
          Regards
          Chris
          Time is an illusion.
          Lunchtime doubly so.

Comment