Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another keen newbie!!

G'day guys!
    I'm just finishing up an 18 month contract here in Perth, Western Australia, arrive back into the UK next weekend. I'm a Tree Surgeon by trade, and have had some amazing experiences and memories, playing with the BIG aussie trees!

Got a few mates here that absolutely love the Hilux Surf and 4RunnerI've grown quite attached to them too, but never really got around to owning my own. But have had a fair few off road/fishing trips with them in their Utes. A highlight was up in Lancelin, a sleepy town about an hour north of Perth, with some HUGE natural sandunes, had some great fun driving in the dunes, also i have to confess digging some out! Then parked one surf at the top of a dune, and one at the bottom, rigged some climbing gear and ropes in between, hey presto! A big, long zipline! Great times, although I was finding sand in places I did'nt know existed for weeks after, and sand was discovered in the Surfs for months after!

I arrived in Oz and found autos are the norm. Ended up with a V6 Mitsi Magna. Never really thought about owning an auto in the UK, but now have developed a bit of a passion for the 2.4TD auto surf, a really capable all rounder, and from what i have seen on the net etc, fairly reasonably priced too, just what i need to continue with the tree work in the UK

I would really appreciate any info you guys could provide, sorry if its been repeated to newbies before! but i'm new to Car imports into the UK. Had a few Grey imported Mbikes into the UK before though. Basically i'm looking at a '1993 K Reg TOYOTA SURF Hilux 2.4 Diesel Auto SSR-X Turbo Diesel' as it is posted on the dealer website.

Here are a few questions i would love some clarity on:
    -Is the 2.4TD the best surf choice, obviously budget permitting?
    -What are the best questions should i ask the dealer when I go to view the Surf?