Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• importing 3l td Surf to the USA

Hey everyone,
    this is my first time on these forums and was wondering if anyone could help answer
    a few questions i have about importing a diesel hilux surf to the US. My plan is
    to convert it to biodiesel so i can have a nice rig w/o the oil thing...

The things that are most important right now are...
    -where should i try to import it from? should i look at directly from japan or australia/UK?
    I know there are certain restrictions coming into the US like emissions etc, but
    does anyone know how difficult and expensive it may be?
    -second, does anyone have experience converting to LHD/RHD? Would it even be worth
    the effort and money?

Thanks for any help you might be able to provide!

Alex

Hi Alex, and welcome to the nuthouse.

As far as I am aware the US has a rule about grey imports should be over 15 years old before they are viable to import.

You may well be hard pressed to find a decent 93 3.0 Litre in Japan now since they would have more than likely come to here or Aus.

I seem to remember there was a guy in the California area who would buy half cuts and then convert US 4runners to be 3.0 Litre TDs - try using the search facility to see if the thread is still here.

Trev
    Look out Eastbourne, the Pandas are coming !

Comment

I think they had diesel 4runners on the continent so it might be worth looking in France or Germany for one with the wheel on the right side to start with. They appear on ebay fairly frequently.

Comment

Or Stick diesel Running gear into a USDM 4Runner.
        More Lift.
        More Tyres.
        More Engine.

Comment

with respect mate, but given the choice of trucks the US manufactures and the price of your fuel, why would you want a little 3.0 diesel surf?
          i swear, it was like that when i got here...

Comment

Originally posted by logey79 View Post