new to surfs trying to get some info before buying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to surfs trying to get some info before buying

hi guys im new to 4x4 but am thinking of buying a 93 surf 2.4td with about 75000miles very clean motor guys asking £2400 which seems to be about what they are selling for.doing some research on the net i have found info on head problems and over heating is this a really bad problem with these how many miles will they do before this starts to happen or is it just luck. the way im thinking is if the car has been going 13 years and is still fine and there are examples still out there with 200000miles plus ,it cant be such a big prob or am i wrong i would buy a 3.0td as i have read they dont suffer any of these problems but insurance will kill me

ps any tips on what i need to be spotting or looking for would be great cheers

dave

p.s.s would it be better to buy one which has already suffered this problem and been sorted with a new head

I found that the difference in insurance between the 2.4 and the 3.0 was hardly anything. Have you already looked into it?
    Nihil illigitimi carborundum

Comment

isurance

yeh i did m8 the problem is i have 9 point for speeding and also dont realy have the cash to buy a newer 3.0 model trying to keep to my 3000 that i have saved can only find poor examples of the 3.0td for that money

Comment

Rarer though it is, 3L's do occasionally suffer head problems, so it's not only
        a 2.4 thing. I'm gonna be making this advice into my sig soon at this rate:
        Overhaul the cooling system when you first get it, rad cap, thermostat, coolant
        flushed and renewed and check for perished hoses, and the chances of head
        problems are vastly diminished.

Comment

Originally posted by MattF
          Rarer though it is, 3L's do occasionally suffer head problems, so it's not only
          a 2.4 thing. I'm gonna be making this advice into my sig soon at this rate: