Engine pictures and diagrams

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine pictures and diagrams

As some of you may have gathered from my previous posts, I am a complete dumbass novice when it comes to doing any work on the car other than taking it through a drive-thru wash. However, as all real men should, I wish to start doing some minor work on my own smurf. Not because I'm a cheapskate but for the sheer convenience of being able to carry out my own service. I have found when I owned previous cars that services were constantly put back because I didn't have the time to go to a garage.

I was wondering if anyone had diagrams of the engine and what the different components etc are. The forum is really useful and i wouldn't know half the thing about the surf without forum experts help. However, when it comes to things like servicing i.e changing oil, filter etc (which I have never done before), it helps to have something to visualise. I'm the kind of guy who doesn't know a sump from a fuel pump. Would it be worth me getting a handbook?

Lots of info here to get you started...

http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/techsite/24table.htm

Comment

there's also a lot of info in the FAQ sention about serviceing..

Carrying out a routine 5000km service is fairly easy - change oil change fuel/oil/air filter grease - a few checks and your done

Be careful not to do as some have done though - make sure when you drain the engine oil it IS the engine oil and not the transmission!!!

If its red its wrong!
      Paranoid? They're out to GET YOU!

Comment

40 years as an engineer-----and I still get oil running down my sleeve.
        First and before starting put down a large drip tray,oil containers etc can be
        placed inside it,then go for it.

Comment

www.showmesome.info/hilux Codlord's site is good for bits and bobs
          Morr's FAQ site is a mine of info but cant find the link at the mo...
          and of course the search button is handy......

Comment