t-belt warning light question???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• t-belt warning light question???

hi there all. i am a total car novice. i am a builder and own a toyota surf 3.0 ssrv, absolutely beautiful wagon!
    it has been well looked after and serviced, around six months ago i had the cam (timing) belt replaced at 193000 km. tonight i hit the 200000 km mark and my t-belt warning light came on. obviously the light comes on automatically every 100000 km, is there a (easy) way to turn this light off, as my belt is only 7000 km old??

Take out the rubber bung from the gauges and press the small button with a paper clip.

Comment

Originally posted by andy
      Take out the rubber bung from the gauges and press the small button with a paper clip.
      That's for the 2.4s.The 3 litre is a screw behind dash.Try a search or someone with a 3 litre may help soon.

Neville

Comment

Originally posted by NiftyNev
        That's for the 2.4s.The 3 litre is a screw behind dash.Try a search or someone with a 3 litre may help soon.

Neville
        I think the method Andy describes is correct for all 2nd Gens, with the screw behind the clocks (and other methods) applying to the 3rd Gens.
        That said, we've no clue in the original post as to which year of Surf the question relates......
        Maurice
        Hilux Surf FAQ at www.hiluxsurf.eu

Comment

Looking at the mileage I assumed that it was a 2nd gen, they still have the rubber bung in the dash.

If it is a 3rd gen you will find the info here. http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/v...ing+belt+light

Comment

thank you so much those who replied, im sorry i was a bit vauge on the year, it is a 94. that said, it had a rubber bung in the dash- which when held in for a few seconds, reset the warning light to off.

Comment