yobit eobot.com

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice required on the best way to start.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice required on the best way to start.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to 4x4s, so new in fact that I've not bought one yet. But having fallen for the charms of the Hilux Surf after seeing a friend's, I've decided to buy one in the middle of next year. Best bit is that my wife loves the idea!

I want to get an early-ish 2.4TD auto a) for fuel economy and b) because I have to drive auto after a rugby injury.

All I really want to know is whether there are any particular models or years that I should avoid? Are there reasons why getting a 93 or later is much better than a 91 or 02 for example.

Help me, I'm completely clueless.

If you have a look round the forum, you will see that some early 2.4s tend have head problems (a general conclusion i known but a fairly common problem) also again on the forum you will see that the difference between the 2.4 and 3.0 diesel in terms of fuel economy is not much, however the performance difference is, so maybe worth spending an extra 500 quid and get a 3.0.
    I know i will be annoying lots of 2.4 owners who have had no problems (my dad has one in kenya that never had any problems ever) but thats just my opion.
    good luck

Comment

Hi and welcome to surfizum you are knocking on the door to the land of the permanent SMILE.

Firstly can I say that if your pocket will strech to it go for a 3.0ltr if only for the grunt factor (befor I upset the 2.4 boys those of you that know me know what I got).