Spare wheel underbody

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spare wheel underbody

Hi I have just taken off my tailgate mounted spare wheel and wish to store it under the body. I have seen this on 2.5 surfs but not on diesel 3.0 litre ones like mine (93 L reg). Does anyone know where I can get a underbody wheel cage kit or would a 2.5 wheelcage fit if i can find one. Also is it possible to get a replacement panel to fit where I have removed the swing out spare wheel mount.

Thanks

Eric

Please bear with me (regarding replies),as I'm new to all this forum stuff!

Originally posted by erictheviking
    Hi I have just taken off my tailgate mounted spare wheel and wish to store it under the body. I have seen this on 2.5 surfs but not on diesel 3.0 litre ones like mine (93 L reg). Does anyone know where I can get a underbody wheel cage kit or would a 2.5 wheelcage fit if i can find one. Also is it possible to get a replacement panel to fit where I have removed the swing out spare wheel mount.

Thanks

Eric

Please bear with me (regarding replies),as I'm new to all this forum stuff!

Suggestion - do a search on spare wheel carriers - there's enough poeple on here with underslung rears who want the rear mounted ones - maybe you can do a swap???

Linda

www.4x4toys.co.uk

Comment

The grass is always greener!
      Derek :
      1990 Hilux Surf SSR Ltd
      [B][COLOR=DarkOrange][U]S[/U][/COLOR][/B]ave [B][COLOR=DarkOrange][U]U[/U][/COLOR][/B]p [B][COLOR=DarkOrange][U]R[/U][/COLOR][/B]eadies [B][COLOR=DarkOrange][U]F[/U][/COLOR][/B]ast. Cause you're gonna need them!

Comment

Del all you need is the winder mechanism and the handle. I think all Surfs have the crossmember and the tapped holes for the mechanism even if they were built with a tail mounted spare.

Surfs with smaller tyres had the winding mechanism bolted straight onto the shell, and the ones that were factory fitted with 31 10.5 15's have a rightangle spacer between the winder and the shell