Thermostat location on 3Y-E engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thermostat location on 3Y-E engine

Got my first surf a bit over a week ago and am doing a coolant flush before taking it away on holiday.

I am totally new to any sort of servicing on cars so have been following online guides but am having trouble locating the thermostat to replace it.

It's not where the top radiator hose meets the engine as it is in the guides I've looked at so far. Is it where the bottom hose comes out of the engine?

Any help appreciated.

Found it!

It turns out it's at the bottom on the intlet hose. Bit of a ####### to get to but managed to get the nuts off but couldn't get the water inlet itself off. Obviously not been off in a long time and it wouldn't budge.

Don't want to start bashing it with a hammer (not that I could get one to it anyway). Anyone got any ideas how to loosen it without risking damage to it?

Cheers.
    Last edited by finsarg; 2 January 2013, 23:29.

Comment

It's in under the pipe that feeds coolant back to engine above the alternator.

Nev

Comment

Yeah cheers Nev.

Any ideas how to get the inlet off? I couldn't get it to budge.

Comment

Two nuts on studs as far as I know.

Nev

Comment

Yeah I got those off ok but the inlet wouldn't move. Didn't want to damage it by hitting it with a hammer, though I did give it a couple taps with the rubber handle of the hammer. Gave up in the end.

Would hot water and a degreaser help? Or perhaps warming it with a heat gun?

Comment

Try using an old knife with a sharpish edge. Place between where you think the outlet flange meets the block and tap with a hammer to break the seal. It may just be stuck to the block.

Nev

Comment

too slow gaining speed while accelerating

Good day Mr. finsarg,