Mileage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mileage

Hi guys, is it possible to chip a 2nd gen 4runner to get better mileage? The turbo kicks in pretty early in 5th and it seems pretty pointless. It would be nice if theres was a way to nock the turbo back a thousand revs or so then i can sit at 70 without the turbo. Is there an ecu chip for this?

Any better air filter replacements that will also help my fuel save cause? Im a student and i use the truck as a band wagon and surf/snowboard monkey, it would be nice to get a bit more beans for my money instead of buying something different!

Thoughts? I have a manual 2nd gen 4runner with the 2wd/4wd option. And yes i leave it in 2wd.

Also, i heard a few whispers about an 'overdrive' option on some 4runners. Do the manuals have any form of auto overdrive or is that only available on the auto transmission's?

Thanks guys.

Ben.
    Ben Bowers

O/D is just 4th gear on an Auto.

Fit a boost gauge, then its easy to tell how much welly you're giving it, and back off the throttle a little when when ever possible to keep the boost down and less fuel will be pumped in.

Turning the turbo off will just mean less efficent running, which will mean worse MPG as intake air volumns are matched to fuel delivery.

Make sure the truck is well serviced, road bias tyres at the correct pressure and it'll be as good as it gets.
    4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment

Yeah i have hybrid tyres, not to aggressive and i keep them at 35 psi. I have a turbo light on my clock which i try to keep out of but not a full pressure gage, hence knowing that i have to stay in the turbo at 70mph.

So if it's possible to chip the jeep so 5th gear turbo pull is a little later than usual (3,000 revs rather than 2,000,) would that screw my fuel to air intake ratio? If so, would fitting a bigger air filter with an extra air feed pipe (maybe even a snorkel?) help the lack of turbo pressure?
      Ben Bowers

Comment