Reverse Judder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reverse Judder

Hi. Been having a recurring problem for a little while now but it seems to be happening more frequently. Basically, when reverse is selected, the truck needs a lot of revs and judders, like trying to reverse with the handbrake on. All the gears seem slightly out too ie. the truck creeps forward in neutral. When this happened the first time I tightened the linkage under the truck and all seemed fine. Last time it happened the linkage was tight so I put some wynnes auto box conditioner in to top up the levels and see if that helped. All seemed fine again, but the judder has returned. Searching on the forum it would seem that the UJ's could be a candidate. As I am a total technical novice, although having said that with the help of this forum I have managed to sort out a fair few problems over the last few years with my Surf, I would be really grateful if somebody could point me in the right direction with what to look for and what I could do in relation to the UJ's.
    When I first encountered this I searched the forum and found a post from someone who had the same problem and cured it by removing the centre console around the gear selector and tightening some screws that had worked loose, but I can't find that post again and I'm not sure what to look for. Any bright ideas?
    Cheers in advance, Simon

No idea what could be loose inside the truck or how worn UJs would only cause a problem when reversing.

First thing I'd check is that the back brakes are OK and adjusted properly. Sounds like the trailing shoe is binding.
    Do you know that, with a 50 character limit, it's

Comment

I've had knackered UJ's that feel bad going backwards, but not so bad going forwards, its always worth checking them.

But this sounds like binding brakes, or something iffy in gearbox, have you checked all the fiud levels?
      4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment