Stuck in the mud....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stuck in the mud....

I'm sorry to bother everyone (or anyone) with this. I'm a complete 4x4 newbie, having collected my first ever 4x4 two days ago. It's a 1996 3.0L manual surf. It was a nice day today so I took it for a spin across the fields, because I now had the right vehicle to do it in (or so I thought). I lost traction in soft ground and got stuck. Needless to say I was in the low 4wd gear all the time. I was surprised enough that I was stuck, but even more surprised when I looked out the window and saw that only my rear wheels were spinning and the front ones were doing nothing. Am I missing something here? I thought all four wheels should be turning. Is this normal? I walked home and returned with a armful of planks and thick timbers to put under the wheels, but couldn't get out no matter how much rocking I did. I eventually had to abandon it there. I don't know anyone with a tractor to pull me out so I'm buggered. Something about this doesn't seem right, it's behaving like a 2wd machine. Can anyone fill me in? Sorry about this, nobody likes a rookie...
    Cheers Richie
    email: mr.richarddoherty@gmail.com

Do you have a late 2nd gen or a 3rd gen ? are you sure you were in 4wd ? Did the light on the dash light up?

AND welcome to the nuthouse .........Beware the squirrel
    ' You've arrived on a rather special night. It's one of the master's affairs.'

Comment

Another thought .....if it's a manual has it got manual locking hubs??
      ' You've arrived on a rather special night. It's one of the master's affairs.'

Comment

Ill leave the issue of whether your truck is working correctly to the others.
        The point I want to make is this:
        Just because you bought a 4 wheel drive dosent mean that you can throw it into any old muddy feild and expect it to drive through without a problem.