Diff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diff

Can someone tell me what the state of the rear diff on a surf is....
    i.e is it a limited slip diff etc....
    Can you put a diff lock on easily enough? would it be worth doing?
    What are the options...
    Cheers
    2 Tone Mud Master!
    http://www.sunsetsurf.co.uk

Originally posted by carbonman
    Can someone tell me what the state of the rear diff on a surf is....
    i.e is it a limited slip diff etc....
    Can you put a diff lock on easily enough? would it be worth doing?
    What are the options...
    Cheers
    Check your axle code here -

http://www.off-road.com/toyota/tech/other/4_axles.html

Lockers are available but I'm not an expert on these so will leave it up to others.

Neville

Comment

'Limited' model 2nd gen Surfs and 4Runners from about 93' on usually come with a LSD, look for a small white sticker on the diff pumpkin, about 1x1 1/2" in size, idf the writing hasn't worn off, it'll say "LSD use LSD oil only" or simular.

Lockers can be fitted easily, fornt or rear, lock-rights are cheap and cheerfull, about £200, normal auto lockers are about £3-400, and the manual lockers are about £500+ plus extra for the compresser if its an air locker. You can fit a Toyota Supra rear LSD in a front IFS diff with a bit of messing around according to US websites.

They are as rare as hens teeth, but some import pickups have a Toyota electric locker in the rear, these are the nuts, but you'll be lucky to find one in a normal truck, let alone getting one from a breaker.
      4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment

Originally posted by NiftyNev
        Check your axle code here -

http://www.off-road.com/toyota/tech/other/4_axles.html

Lockers are available but I'm not an expert on these so will leave it up to others.

Neville