Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No start after new passenger side battery

Hi there,

I had to fit a new battery over the weekend as the passenger side one was completely dead, even tried jumping with my brother-in-law's VW but still no luck. Went down to KwikFit, confirmed the battery was knackered bought a new one, brought it home, fitted it and started up first time - GREAT!

That was Saturday, come Monday I tried to start her up and after a short flickers of the dashboard lights nothing. The battery reading on the dash even went dead. Checked the batteries and they're both still good. The lights on the dash, etc. still work but the starter doesn't even try to turn over, there isn't even a click.

I'm no mechanic so not sure what could be wrong, any ideas where I should start?

Spec:
    Engine Size: 3.0L
    Fuel: Diesel
    Transmission: Manual
    Model: Surf SSRX

Check the battery connections are tight.
    There's a plastic section inside the battery clamps that prevents them from gripping the battery posts securely. I cut them out.

Also, is the other battery in good condition? If that one is dead it will drain the new battery very quickly as they are linked together.

Comment

Originally posted by wobbleyheadedbob View Post
      Hi there,

I had to fit a new battery over the weekend as the passenger side one was completely dead, even tried jumping with my brother-in-law's VW but still no luck. Went down to KwikFit, confirmed the battery was knackered bought a new one, brought it home, fitted it and started up first time - GREAT!

That was Saturday, come Monday I tried to start her up and after a short flickers of the dashboard lights nothing. The battery reading on the dash even went dead. Checked the batteries and they're both still good. The lights on the dash, etc. still work but the starter doesn't even try to turn over, there isn't even a click.

I'm no mechanic so not sure what could be wrong, any ideas where I should start?