Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intermittent Electrical Problems

Gidday.

I’m a newbie from New Zealand. I own a 1995 3L Turbo Diesel, Model KD-KZN185W (new shape), Engine – 1KZ-TE. Automatic (Japanese Import).

For about a year now I have had an ongoing problem. The vehicle goes fine for a while then suddenly starts to play up. Symptoms: Turning on key and nothing happens, then after pumping brake and/or wiggling gear lever, it will start. When indicating, the radio will stop, aerial retracts, then the radio will start again and aerial rises. When braking the radio cuts out. There is a high pitch humming noise which gets higher as the vehicle accelerates. When turning vehicle off, the vehicle “shudders” (like a timing issue) which invariably indicates it won’t re-start. The reverse beeping sounds sick when this is happening. Most seriously the vehicle “dies” when the lights are selected or flashed (happened this evening).

I have had the vehicle to an auto electrician. He went thru and checked all wiring and connections. He replaced the ignition and cleaned some connections. Got vehicle back, worked OK for a couple of months, then started doing same things again. Took vehicle back. He cleaned a couple more connections. Vehicle worked OK for a couple of months then same again. Next time the auto electrician stung me for a new starter motor and I bought a new battery. Yes all OK until (you know the story). Finally the vehicle just failed to start one day after trying all the little fixes mentioned above. Got AA out. He cleaned the battery terminals and was all OK for quite awhile. But the vehicle still has the problems, so I keep cleaning and tightening the battery terminals with success - until now. Cleaned terminals yesterday, my wife goes out tonight and vehicle stalls when she put the lights on. I’m at my wits end on this one. This forum appears to be very good. Can anybody help with a possible solution(s)?